Cupshe Return Policy Review

Let’s talk about Cupshe.  You see their swimsuits everywhere – all over social media, especially while scrolling through your Instagram feed.  Sure, their suits are cute in all the photos, but I want to talk about their return policy…

On Cupshe’s website, they claim “Easy to initiate a refund or exchange”. How easy exactly!? Well it only took NINE email exchanges.  Yes, NINE!

Details below…

Email 1: Per the policy, I initiated the return process by sending an email to customer service.  I included my order number and a photo of the barcode on the shipping package with a statement that I’d like to return the 3 suits I purchased for a refund.

(Obstacle #1: since the photo of the barcode is required, I would assume you’re SOL if you threw away the shipping packaging upon arrival.  Their bags are not reusable, so even if you knew you wanted to return you’d have to provide your own packaging , so why wouldn’t you throw it away?)

Email 2, Cupshe’s Response: They asked for the item names and what was wrong with each item

(Obstacle #2: Their policy states “Items can be returned or exchanged generally for any reason, quality or size problems or other reasons accepted by our customer service.”  They specified that quality or size problems were accepted so I made sure to state that each suit was being returned because of one of those issues).

Email 3, Cupshe’s Response: They offered me two solutions… up to 50% partial refund of the items I wanted to return without actually returning the items, OR receive a store credit worth 80% of your return items value to make another purchase on their website, again, no need to actually send back the items.

(Obstacle #3: They only offered two solutions in their initial response; up to 50% partial refund to my PayPal account or 80% store credit.  The return & exchange conditions mentioned on their website claims “As usual, refunds will be reimbursed back to your original account — credit card or PayPal. PayPal refunds will be transferred immediately. Credit cards may take longer time to arrive.” So you have to take it upon yourself to request a FULL refund, it isn’t initially provided as an option.

Obstacle #4: IF YOU TAKE THE 80% STORE CREDIT YOU CANNOT RETURN/EXCHANGE THE ITEMS YOU PURCHASED WITH THAT CREDIT!

Email 4, My Response: I replied stating I would like a full refund for what I paid, not interested in store credit, keeping the swimsuits, or exchanging for other merchandise.

Email 5, Cupshe’s Response: Among other non-important details, they responded with the following “If you prefer a full refund, please return the items in 3-5 days. Meanwhile provide us with the returning tracking number via email. Sooner returning tracking number is offered, faster the refund will be processed.”

(Obstacle #5: YOU ARE IN CHARGE OF YOUR OWN RETURN SHIPPING.  I realize that nowhere on their website do they offer free returns, so sure, my fault for not investigating 100%.)

So I went to the post office and purchased a USPS Medium Flat Rate box with tracking for $13.60.

Now let’s do the math… What seems like a better deal? Keep the swimsuits and accept a store credit for 80% of the cost, and order new sizes/styles? Or pay for return shipping, send back the swimsuits, exchange nine emails, get a refund and still not have a cute suit?  Seems like you should just take the store credit, right? WRONG!

My total purchase was $68.20, so my store credit would have been $54.56 if I accepted the 80% offer. That’s only a loss of $13.64, which happens to be ALMOST the exact cost of shipping! Why didn’t I just keep the suits and accept the store credit? Refer back to obstacle 4: Anything I would have purchased with that store credit would be ineligible for a return or exchange! Meaning I would never have the option to be refunded! Risk being out my original $68.20 completely, or take the $13.60 shipping loss and follow through with the refund?  I couldn’t wear any of the suits I originally ordered anyways so why keep them? And what are the odds I could find a wearable one with my next try? I wanted my refund.

Email 6, My Response: Here’s the USPS Tracking information

Email 7, Cupshe’s Response: “Please follow the status of the shipping, when it is delivered, please email us”

(Obstacle #6: YOU ARE IN CHARGE OF TRACKING WHEN THE RETURN PACKAGE ACTUALLY ARRIVES AT THEIR FACILITY. If the first 4 obstacles weren’t enough to make you say ‘screw it’, this seems like their last-ditch effort to hope you forget to finish the process.)

Tip: USPS allows you to set up tracking/delivery updates via SMS messages.  Just enter your tracking number and phone number and you’ll get a text once the package is delivered, ensuring you don’t forget to email Cupshe for that refund!

Email 8, My Response (once notified of delivery): Stated my return package was delivered, please return the funds to my account to complete this refund.

Email  9, Cupshe’s Response: Basically, thanks we’ll issue your refund.

And I got a notification that my PayPal account was credited within 24 hours.

That’s it! Just a simple NINE STEP PROCESS, totally designed for you not to bother with it.

Can I say anything good about Cupshe? Here’s some thoughts:
Obviously the price point is low, and if the suits work for you it’s a great deal! And although I had to send what felt like a million emails back and forth, their customer service always responded in a timely manner.  All of the above interaction happened over the course of 6 days.  So at least you’re not left waiting a week in between responses. I always received the next email (and obstacle) within 24 hours.

Moral of the story: If you don’t mind the obstacles, have some time on your hands, and usually don’t have an issue with sizing – try Cupshe.  But for me, I need the ability to easily try things on before making a final decision to purchase.  I do most of my shopping online and LIVE by retailers such as ASOS and Nordstrom and their free shipping & return policies!!! I took a chance on Cupshe, the sizing wasn’t right for me, and learned my lesson the hard way about their actual return process.  Hoping some find this helpful before clicking that ‘submit order’ button.

17 thoughts on “Cupshe Return Policy Review

  1. This is exactly what I’m going through right now with Cupshe. I’m waiting for their response on a return address – do you have this btw? They have taken days to respond so that is unlike your fairly quick responses.
    I’ll never shop with them again.

    Like

    • The worst! I will attempt to copy and paste their message:

      All of the items should not be washed or ruined, otherwise, we don’t receive the returns.
      We’re sorry that we don’t offer shipping label and we’re not responsible for shipping back fee.
      Here below are return address A and return address B, please choose the one closer to you.

      Return Address A
      Receiver: EL GCRMA 115
      Company: EL GCSS 115
      Return address: 10 Sigle Lane, Unit B
      Dayton, NJ, 08810

      Return Address B
      Receiver: EL GCRMA 115
      Company: EL GCSS 115
      Return address: 18551 Arenth Ave, City of Industry California 91748

      Like

  2. I’m also dealing with this. I sent my initial email on April 4th and haven’t received a response so I sent another today with photos and more information hoping that would get me somewhere. Did you email the email listed on their return policy page?

    Like

  3. I am having the same issue…I am livid! The addresses above..is that what you put on the package…EL GCRMA 115?? EL GCSS 115….I have never seen American addresses like this. PLease help…I’ve left emails, messages, comments on FB…trying to get them to respond. Nothing works!

    Like

    • That looks like the company name, not the address. The address is listed underneath that. I was considering ordering from them but this review has me seriously reconsidering! Hope you get your issues resolved!

      Like

  4. How many bathing suits fit in the medium flat rate box? I’m ordering 10 suits off their site and want to know how much return shipping out potentially be.

    Like

  5. I am currently going through the same situation. I was given a different address:

    Receiver: EL GCRMA 115

    Company: EL GCSS 115

    1100 Cranbury South River Rd,

    Monroe Township, NJ 08831

    This address is not far from where I live. Hmmm… Also, there is no company at this address. I just emailed Cupshe to let them know I can just drop the package off but will need top know how I can give them proof of delivery.
    I’m pretty upset with myself for not doing research.

    Like

  6. what exactly is their return mailing address? I’m in NJ. I need to return 3 of the 6 I ordered and I’m trying to decide if its cheaper to ship them back since the package has chinese all over its mailing label or keep them and take a 60% refund of the purchase price. I really don’t want to keep them or list them on ebay either.

    Like

  7. I ordered the Fete solid green bikini set in medium and the top was way too small, literally 75% of my breasts were hanging out. Exchanging for a larger size isn’t an option because then the cup size might work but the size around my rib cage would be too large. (I am a 34D). I also ordered a cover up that was awful- it was really a sweater with holes and not really a pool/beach cover up. Nevertheless, I initiated the refund and the process was horrible as you have described. I was then told “mix and match lingerie” can’t be returned. I didn’t buy mix and match lingerie, I bought the fete top and bottom bikini set. My definition of mix and match would be a different top and bottom and bathing suits are not lingerie. Basically, they sell the bikini I purchased as a set and on the mix and match page and try to use that loophole so that you can’t return the item. The return instructions said that bikini sets must be returned and can’t be exchanged. At this point I returned all 3 items and am disputing the charge with American Express. Buyer beware with this company. They don’t seem very legit.

    Like

  8. Going through this right now with them……I’m actually trying to cancel my order because it hasn’t shipped yet and I need the suits soon (paid extra for shipping) BUT they are claiming it has left their warehouse and unable to cancel. Well, the tracking number clearly says the shipping info has been received but the items haven’t left a warehouse. Sent them a screenshot of the tracking info, we’ll see what they say.

    I went and ordered the same 2 items on Amazon Prime – why I didn’t do this in the first place I’m not sure! We’ll see if they actually arrive tomorrow…

    Like

  9. Want to provide an updated comment on this. I was SO HAPPY to have found this article on Cupshe because you literally saved me A LOT of back and forth and trouble. So, I went out on a limb and decided to say screw it to waiting for them to reply and just took the return into my own hands. I did initiate the return as they request – by sending an email to service@cupshe.zendesk.com (I forwarded my order confirmation email and requested my refund that way). They replied to the initial refund request pretty quickly but then DAYS went by. I went to the post office and used the shipping address above:
    Receiver: EL GCRMA 115
    Company: EL GCSS 115
    1100 Cranbury South River Rd,
    Monroe Township, NJ 08831

    I emailed them back, all in this same email chain the tracking number and a picture of my receipt from the post office and they’ve replied to me (4 days in now) that my credit card will be refunded in 3-5 days.

    I would just advise doing what I did if you need a quick refund and don’t want to wait for them to reply slowly with ridiculous instructions.

    May we all go out and find the good sites and not be woo’ed by $20 bathing suits – you get what you pay for!

    Like

Leave a comment